User_Wookie is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Set up of product variant database with large number of product attributes

DB_Test.pdf
    Hi all,

Firstly, thanks for taking the time to look at this! It never ceases to amaze how cool it is that people take the time to share knowledge with strangers over the interwebs you are all superstars.

Right, with that out of the way here is the background.
    Obviously I am a DB newbie, my aim is to create a database to record the different attributes of our product range. Typically we design a product, produce it, and then make iterative changes to it during subsequent production runs (although not all production runs will have changes).

The number of attributes that we want to capture is around 300 and will no doubt grow over time. The attributes can be arranged into categories.

Initial plan was to keep it to two tables
    tbl_Products: Where product specific information which does not change was kept (such as name, sku, original design date)
    tbl_Variants: Where the attributes of the product variant are kept.
    (time for all the DB masters to grit their teeth)
    Creating a new product variant in tbl_Variants would involve copying the entire previous version (as the majority of attributes wouldn't change)

My vision of the UI for managing the entry/editing of data would be a Navigation form where you could select the Product/Variant from cascading dropdowns then use the navigation tabs to view the different categories of attributes, as viewing all the attributes would be overwhelming.
    The queries I have are:

1. Is the proposed DB structure okay for what I am trying to achieve?