Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    mredmond13 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16

    Property Sheet Does Not Display

    I have created forms but cannot get the Properties Sheet to appear. I have scanned the forum and looked for an applicable solution, but cannot.
    I get no error message. The icon in the ribbon highlights when clicked, but not once the mouse button is released.
    I checked FILE, OPTIONS, CUSTOMIZE RIBBON tabs and the menu items appear to be disabled. see below:


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Properties Sheet.PNG 
Views:	31 
Size:	5.9 KB 
ID:	34491

    I try to select RESET but nothing changes.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,925
    No, that's not it.
    Various items are disabled here to indicate they cannot be removed e.g. Property Sheet

    Open the Design ribbon & select Property Sheet - it should appear on the right of the screen
    If you can't see it, you may at some point have reduced its width to almost zero or dragged it off screen.
    If so, try pulling the right edge of your form to the left to make space for the property sheet
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  3. #3
    mredmond13 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by ridders52 View Post

    Open the Design ribbon & select Property Sheet - it should appear on the right of the screen
    If you can't see it, you may at some point have reduced its width to almost zero or dragged it off screen.
    If so, try pulling the right edge of your form to the left to make space for the property sheet
    Thanks for yoru quick response, but I have tried all of these techniques, even before posting. I cannot see it. I've pulled the form waaaay to the left and still cannot see the Properties Sheet. I am new to the forum, but am not unfamiliar with Access Programming. Is there any command I can run to reactivate or display the properties sheet?

  4. #4
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,651
    try typing this into an immediate window
    CommandBars("Property Sheet").Position =msoBarTop
    If prompted to install any references, click no. If it appears, you should be able to move it to where you want it to be from then on. Did you lose this by closing the db when using a different monitor and it is invisible in the current monitor?

    EDIT
    forgot to write & hit Enter after pasting the line.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  5. #5
    mredmond13 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    try typing this into an immediate window
    CommandBars("Property Sheet").Position =msoBarTop
    If prompted to install any references, click no. If it appears, you should be able to move it to where you want it to be from then on. Did you lose this by closing the db when using a different monitor and it is invisible in the current monitor?
    Thanks. I'll give this a try. I use three monitors and is does not appear on any one of them. I even use the ALT-TAB sequence to scroll through all open windows and it is nowhere.

    I'll let you know if this works.
    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    mredmond13 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    try typing this into an immediate window
    CommandBars("Property Sheet").Position =msoBarTop
    I did enter this command into an immediate window, but there was no response.

    However, I think I solved this riddle. I was setting up the application for a user to run without seeing the Access environment. So upon opening I was executing the following code to HIDE the toolbars:

    Code:
    '***********************************************************
    '*                    Hide Tool Bars
    '***********************************************************
    Private Sub HideToolBars()
        Dim i As Integer
        For i = 1 To CommandBars.Count
            CommandBars(i).Enabled = False
        Next i
    End Sub
    When the app closes, it's supposed to run code to UNHIDE the toolbars:

    Code:
    '***********************************************************
    '*                    Show Tool Bars
    '***********************************************************
    Private Sub ShowToolBars()
        Dim i As Integer
        For i = 1 To CommandBars.Count
            CommandBars(i).Enabled = True
        Next i
    End Sub
    But that code was not running. It is now and all is well.
    Thanks for the help everyone.

  7. #7
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,925
    Glad you solved it.
    It would have helped if you had mentioned about hiding the application window/toolbars/ribbon originally!
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  8. #8
    mredmond13 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by ridders52 View Post
    Glad you solved it.
    It would have helped if you had mentioned about hiding the application window/toolbars/ribbon originally!
    Yes, it would have. Hindsight is 20/20, isn't it. Didn't even think of it at the time. Mea Culpa!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-12-2016, 02:34 PM
  2. Property sheet not updating
    By Grin in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2016, 02:36 PM
  3. Property sheet validations
    By thisisjess in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 12:42 PM
  4. Property sheet will not open
    By lawdy in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2014, 09:26 PM
  5. Format in Property Sheet
    By KevinMCB in forum Reports
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 12:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums