TheWolfster is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)

How do you create a new field based on imported header information?

Hello again.

I've gotten a lot done with the help of llkhoutx, but now I have 1 remaining question. Apologies in advanced if I'm confusing (I'm new to access!)

See the previous thread if it helps.

Our lab has several .dat files (.txt files) with one of the following headers (see attached file, LFCC1x1, as an example)

LFCC1x1 95 00 SJL
    LFCP#x# 95 00 SJL
    OFCC#x# 95 00 SJL
    OFCP#x# 95 00 SJL

LFCC (or one of the other varients), represents a Study. The first # in 1x1 represents the patient number, and the second # in 1x1 (the 2) represents the session number. Patients can have several sessions (maximum 9, so for patient 1, 1x9 is his or her last session).

The 95 00 SJL (which varies from file-to-file) can be negated. In fact, I'd like it to be ignored completely.

I'm trying to figure out a way for Access to distinguish the different header type (LFCC, LFCP, OFCC, or OFCP) and import that into a new field entitled Study. (So the Study field would have 1 of 4 variables, LFCC, LFCP, OFCC or OFCP).

So far, I've been able import the data accordingly, along with the patient ID (ID) and session ID (File), everything else is its own field. However, I have no idea how to go about getting header data to be imported into this new field.

Any advice would be grateful.
    Last edited by TheWolfster; 02-17-2010 at 02:07 PM.

llkhoutx is offline Competent Performer
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    I don't understand why you need a different column for each study. A Study, is a study is a study. You don't similarly contemplate multiple columns for each "principal investigator" ("PI" as used in your original thread). You can track and count multiple studies in one column via a query. Multiple studies can be related to a single PI or multiple PIs or the same studies related to multiple PIs>