bjd1020 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

New-and need help as well as advice

I am fairly new to access and would like to ask a few questions. I have been going through several free online tutorials and have been fairly successful at designing the database, at least I know what I want it to do, however I think I have hit a wall now that I am at the programming level.

Basically what the database is for is to track jobs as they move through our division. It will also track the hours in which each process takes. I would like the user to access the database using a menu. When the employees access the menu they will need to search for the job record by submitting the job number into the empty field and hitting the find button on the form. That will bring up the record and they can update the record, when done they would hit the submit button and the table would be updated and the form record would close.

The file is too large or I would attach it. I could send what I have so far if it would help....I would just need an email.

Also I ordered a book for training purposes and would like to know if it’s recommended. "Access 2007: The missing Manual:

Thanks Bryan D.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Here is one method to filter form recordset http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...tomfilter.html

I don't really like the query parameter method. Other code methods are available to filter records on an open form.

I prefer to use WHERE CONDITION of OpenForm (or OpenReport) to open form or report filtered to specific records that meet criteria. Example:
    DoCmd.OpenForm "form name", , , "ID=" & Me.ID

Did you make copy, delete data (leave a few records for testing), run Compact & Repair, zip file (2mb size allowed)?
    Last edited by June7; 11-06-2012 at 12:10 PM.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.