Compufreak is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

One form with 3 different options

Hi there

I am a newbie to access 2007. I would just like to know if it is possible for me to make one form with 3 different options i.e i have a start date and end date and a combo box. if the user enters only for the start date and end date , and clicks the run button, it must pull the query for that specific item and display the data in a report for that only. if a user selects items from a combo box it must show only data for that specific combobox selection. also if the user selects the start date and end date and combobox it must display for that selection.

As said before i am a newbie to access but i am catching on really quick. i would truly appreciate your help with an example .

Thanks again

Compu

dbdesign is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    RecordSource will open a form with the Query or Table you specify.

DoCmd.OpenForm "Form1"

If Whatever Then
    Me.RecordSource = "Query1"
    ElseIf SomethingElse Then
    Me.RecordSource = "Query2"
    Else
    Me.RecordSource = "Query3"
    End If

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Another option is to use VBA behind the scenes to actually build the SQL code for your query, and then run that.
    It is really easier than it sounds. If you take query, you can change it to SQL view and see what the SQL code for that query looks like. That is what you have to recreate in your VBA code. Most of it will be the same, it is just the criteria that is changing, based on your selections.

Once you have built the SQL code, you just assign it to an existing query, then open that query. Something like this: https://www.accessforums.net/program...2-a-26332.html

thanks for the speedy response.
    basically i have one report and this report must pull data based on the parameter selection in the form.
    your help is appreciated

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007