Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ajcke is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Convert time stamp Now() to Fiscal Year

By googling this I realize this has been answered, but I'm very new to Access and do not quite understand the syntax of any of the solutions I've found.

Our fiscal year is from the first day of July to the last day of June. I have a table called StudentScores and I need to be able to sort student progress by school year. My end goal is for the results to be displayed as 2010-2011 School Year, 2011-2012 School Year, etc... I will also need to allow users to select the year they want from a combo box and run a report based on that fiscal school year selection.

The StudentScores table has a field called RecordCreationDate. Type: date/time, Default Value: =Now(), Format: General Date. The end result displays like this: 5/8/2012.

I could create a query per year, and I do that now by using the following as the criteria: >=#7/1/2011# And <#6/30/2012#, but that really limits what I'm doing and isn't getting me the results I need.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    How will users select fiscal year? E.g., for 2010-2011 FY will they just select or type 2011 or will they select from a list of the hyphenated year pairs? Say they just type/select 2011, then something like:

DoCmd.OpenReport "report name", , , "RecordCreationDate Between #7/1/" & Me.yeartextbox - 1 & "# AND #6/30/" & Me.yeartextbox & "#"
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

JeroenMioch is offline Competent Performer
    Windows Vista Access 2003
    I dont fully understand what the problem is.
    I suppose you have a combobox and filter the school results after selecting the (school) year they wanna see.
    So i'd place an afterupdate event on that combobox.