237 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

combo box posting to table

Hi, I'm very new to Access. I searched the help website and forum but I don't really know what keywords are appropriate to find the solution to my problem. I'm using Access 2007.

I have two tables, one with a list of accounts (ACC), the other to post data about the accounts (DATA). I created a form for DATA and a combo box to select the account it relates to.

In the DATA split form, the account name shows up correctly in the datasheet. But when I select the DATA table, the ID of the account name shows up instead. How do I get the table to look the same as the datasheet in the split form?

hertfordkc is offline 18 year novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

You may be making things more difficult than they need to be.

Your tables should store unique pieces of information. Google 'normalized database tables'. In other words, you have account information in one table and you really don't need to save it in the table again.
    Instead, use queries to combine the tables and information into what you need to see on forms and reports. This is really a more flexible arrangement.
    I'm inferring this from your evident angst in seeing a customer ID in the DATA table instead of the customer's name. I still have relapses with that sort of thing.

237 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    It's true what you describe what I'm seeing that I don't want to see. But I'm sorry, I don't understand everything else you're saying.

Maybe it's because I don't know how to make use of queries, but because the original DATA table has ID number in place of account name, the resulting query still shows the ID number. The ID number shows as well when I create a report.

--