Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 52 of 52
  1. #46
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,956
    Don't know. Not an issue with my split db.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  2. #47
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    is yours over a LAN or WAN? Also did you accept the default settings whne you initially split it? wondering if there are some additional settings I can try.

  3. #48
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,956
    Like I know the difference between LAN or WAN? This is a government agency and I know the server is in another building so I would guess WAN? It's been 7 years since this db created and I inherited it as a 2003 mdb, not sure how the split was accomplished. Probably started as two separate files because knew that would be the final architecture. What defaults are you referring to?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  4. #49
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    The default record locking settings, Default Open mode, and Recordset would be the places I would think make a difference but im not sure.

  5. #50
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,956
    I have never adjusted those settings, not even when upgraded to 2007. The current settings are:

    Default open mode: Shared
    Default record locking: No locks

    I don't see a setting for Recordset.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  6. #51
    tobydobo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    169
    Hello June7,

    Back to your update script mentioned in this thread...i have it working flawlessly, but wanted to see if you had something I could add that will show a copy progress dialog while it overwriting.

    current code:


    Private Sub Form_Load()
    'Update procedure for the lab database program
    'Check for updates to the program on start up and notify the user
    'Then allow choice to download and install later version.

    Dim cn As ADODB.Connection
    Dim rsUpdateCheck As ADODB.Recordset
    Dim Shell

    Set cn = CurrentProject.Connection
    Set rsUpdateCheck = New ADODB.Recordset
    Set Shell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

    'Select record from Version if user's version number in Label1 matches
    rsUpdateCheck.Open "SELECT * FROM Version WHERE Field1='" & Me.Label1.Caption & "' ;", cn, adOpenStatic, adLockPessimistic

    'If values don't match then there is a later version
    If rsUpdateCheck.RecordCount < 1 Then
    If MsgBox("There is a new version of Project Database available. Install now?", vbYesNo + vbApplicationModal + vbQuestion, "New Program Update") = vbYes Then
    Shell.Run CurrentProject.Path & "\Update.vbs"
    Set Shell = Nothing
    Application.Quit
    End If
    End If
    rsUpdateCheck.Close
    cn.Close
    End Sub

  7. #52
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,956
    You could try a popup MsgBox but might suspend process until responded to. Might be able to do a progress bar but I don't know how. I never tried anything because my users just get used to the time it takes for the copy and it is fast enough.

    I am trying to eliminate the VBScript with alternative code found at http://www.access.qbuilt.com/html/update_front_end.html

    So far, not going well.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Accessing Oracle database
    By rbodhale in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 08:18 AM
  2. Split Database
    By gbwiii in forum Database Design
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-20-2011, 09:55 AM
  3. Split database problems
    By stuben in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2010, 11:48 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 07:09 PM
  5. Multiple users accessing same database
    By 4ACE in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2008, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums