greyscale is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 97

Access 97 query - 'grey out' drop down list if another list is selected

Hi,

I am very new to access and my question is 2 fold:

1 - Is it possible to 'grey out' a drop down section of a form if another section has been selected?

If not,

2 - I need to write a query that counts the number of entries in column A, column B and shows the relevant dollar value. This is working fine except in cases where the user puts an entry in both A and B. In this case, we only want to count column A as per below:

- if column A null and column B has an entry, return 1 count and dollar value for column B
    - if column B null and column A has an entry, return 1 count and dollar value for column A
    - if column A has an entry and column B has an entry, return 1 count and dollar value for column A only

I can't attach the db as it contains customer sensitive information. Is anyone able to help based off this email?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    1. I presume by 'drop down section', you mean a comboox. You can use code to disable controls on form. I only use VBA. In the AfterUpdate event of each, include a line like: Me.othercontrolname.Enabled = False

2. This is two pieces of data. Construct fields in query with expressions.
    For the Count expression: IIf(Not IsNull([ColumnA]) Or Not IsNull([ColumnB]),1,0)
    For the Dollar Value: Nz([ColumnA],[ColumnB])
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows XP Access 97
    Thanks for your reply, June7. Please excuse my ignorance here. This is someone else's database and I am just trying to help them with this. I will get them to try the VBA code you have provided.