rcrobman is offline Not Expert Yet!
    Windows XP Access 2007

Copy data from one form to another

After spending a day on this (pathetic) I am at my wits end.
    The task in my mind is simple:
    Open up a form/subform with multiple records on the subform
    Open up another form/subform
    Copy the records from the orginal subform to the other subform using a Do While Loop

I suspect that the easiest way to do this is to use recordsets but cannot seem to get them to work so I tried this way (excuse the simplicity of the coding idea - I am not really a programmer):

'Find out how many equipment records we need to create
    Reccount = DCount([Quote Number], "[Order Details]", "[Quote Number] = " & Forms!Quotation![Quote Number])

'Move to subform and make sure that we are on the first record
    Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub].SetFocus
    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acFirst

'Set up do while loop
    Do While Reccount > 0
    ' Fill in the new record on the new form with the details of the first record of the original form
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]!Quantity = Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Quantity]
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]![Quoted Price] = DLookup("PRICE", "Equipment", "EQUIPID = " & Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Euip Id])
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]![Quoted Modelnum] = DLookup("MODELNUM", "Equipment", "EQUIPID = " & Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Euip Id])
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]![Quoted Description] = DLookup("DESCRIPT", "Equipment", "EQUIPID = " & Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Euip Id])
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]![Euip Id] = Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Euip Id]
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details]![Ext Price] = Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Quantity] * Forms!Quotation![Quote Sub]![Quoted Price]
    'Make sure that the new form has the focus
    Forms![PO Request]![PO Request Details].SetFocus
    'Save the record just created
    RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord