shiphtfour is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Form for entering animal cages in laboratory

Hello, I am completely new to Access, so please excuse my total lack of knowledge. I recently started working at a lab that does mice breeding for research and my boss would like me to work on the access database they have setup. What I am trying to do is create a form that will be used for entering new cages into the database. As of now, the database is setup with a backend containing a database for each room with tables for each strain in that room. The frontend database is then used by the researches when they want to order mice.

There is a table for each strain and within these tables are 9 fields: ID, Strain, Cage#, Sex, Genotype, Animal#, Birthdate, User, and Sent/Retire date.

I want to create a from that makes inputting all this information much easier. I want the top of the form to have a drop-down list of the different tables (or strains) that the data will be put into. Below that I would like a textbox for inputing the cage number. Below that a dropdown box for either male or female, followed by a textbox for the number of mice. Because the mice have different genotypes in the same cage, after inputting the the number of mice is it possible for the same number of fields to appear where the user can input the genotype for each mouse? Then a field to input the birthdate.

Right now, you have to just open the table and input this information manually. But, the way it is setup, each mouse in each cage is given its own row. So for example:

Cage 001 Mouse #1 Female Born 0233
    Cage 001 Mouse #2 Female Born 0233
    Cage 001 Mouse #3 Female Born 0233

Is this a bad way to be inputting data? I know that ideally you shouldn't be inputting the same data multiple times... Anyways, any help is greatly appreciated!

pkstormy is offline Access/SQL Server Expert
    Windows XP Access 2003