Delta729 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)

Table Setup advice for invoice processing...

Hi all,

I'm very new to Access. The company I work for is currently using Office 2002 and will be switching to 2010 early this next year. My situation is this... The department I work for processes outside contractors work invoices for payments by my company. We receive and validate invoices, send them to an approver, get them back with either an approver or a rejection, and then process the approved invoices in our SAP system for payment, which is then processed for payment by Accounts payables.

We need to track the processing time for all invoices received and the time it takes to process them from the date we received from the contractor to the date they are processed for payment.

We currently have a database that nothing more than a spreadsheet. It contains the following info in one table.
    1. Contractor Name
    2. Vendor Number (which is unique to Contractor),
    3. PO Number (several different per contractor, one or two per Region - depending on type of PO.)
    4. PO Item No (only 4, 10 to 40)
    5. Invoice No (always unique - We process about 2500 total invoices per month)
    6. Invoice Amount
    7. Date our department received
    8. Type of Work (3 digit code)
    9. Date we sent to approver
    10. Approvers Name
    11. Date Returned from approver
    12. Rejection (yes/no) option
    13. Comments section
    14. Processing Number
    15. Processing/Rejection Date

The information is overwhelming how it is currently set up. I would like to completely revamp this monster before we switch to the new Office 2010. I would greatly appreciate any input on how best to setup tables to avoid all the duplicated information and possibly how best setup up primary keys.