txacoli is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

A very simple query re totals........

At work, we time when our referrals come in and at the end of the year, we have to produce charts to show things like this. The query I've developed shows me how many referrals we get between each hour block (e.g. 07.00 - 07.59) which is fine, but I would also like it to total up the grand total of referrals at the bottom of that column.

Basically, this is my code (don't laugh, I'm a total newbie and it's very basic).

SELECT [Referrals 2010].Assess, Count(*) AS [Number], [Referrals 2010].Time
    FROM [Referrals 2010]
    GROUP BY [Referrals 2010].Assess, [Referrals 2010].Time

HAVING ((([Referrals 2010].Assess)="No") AND (([Referrals 2010].Time) Between "07.00-07.59" And "19.00-19.59"));

I can add an autosum into my 2007 Access at home, but not on the 2003 Access I'm running at work. Can someone tell me how to make it do this simple little thing please?

Many thanks in advance

Mark

Rixxe is offline Blessed Bear
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Might be an idea to look at the DSUM() and SUM() functions.

Good luck

I've done a lot since you helped me last week Rixxe, but this has me stumped. I know it's simple, but I can't get through it. I've looked and looked on Google and while there are loads of suggestions, there's nothing I can find there that I can get to work.

Is there any chance, using the code in my original post, that you - or anyone - could suggest where I could put my DSUM or SUM please? (Polite answers only please!)

Windows 7 Access 2007
    At least you have been looking (Thats what learning new stuff is all about!)
    This site might help you:
    http://www.techonthenet.com/sql/sum.php

But what you will need to do is put something like this into your query:
    I havent actually tried this, but it makes sence. (Don't often use SUM function)
    Code: