Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    DMee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2019

Brainstorming - Access Application for Quality Management

Greetings All,

I have been assigned a new project to revamp our quality systems. In particular, I need to create a new QA database in Access. This really would need to be it's own application entirely.

I'm looking for help brainstorming how to best create it. I want to use Access. I have no prior experience designing an application or using Access to do so, but I know it's possible because I've used one that works well before.

So, for the access experts out there, how hard would it be to create an application in access that does the following:

- Allows a user to print a test sheet for a certain product. *Note - this will need to be linked to a specification table or something somewhere, so the appropriate tests for each part print.
    - Allows a user to enter / input lot testing data for each manufacturing run
    - Create certificates of analysis, which would then be generated in PDF format

How would you approach this?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    No necessary hard, providing you put the work in first

To quote my advice to another poster:

a good developer will spend some time with the client to clarify the actual requirements in detail, suggest ‘what if’ scenarios to test the viability of those requirements. determine constraints around populating the tables, human interaction with the data and reporting.

at the moment you are missing the details. from this you can build your schema (tables and relationships)

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    How would you approach this?
    By reading about db design at table relationships.

Do you envisage the db being use on just a single computer?
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick