Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110

    How do I change the back-end database

    I've got my app to a point that I want someone else to do some testing. When I copy the app and the back-end to a flash drive, the app on the flash drive is still linked to the back-end on my hard drive. How so I change the linkage to be on the flash drive?

  2. #2
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,430
    Use the linked table manager to relinki

  3. #3
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110
    When I go to the linked table manager it only shows the back-end that is on my hard drive.

    I've tried several things but all it did was duplicate all my tables. Now I have 3 versions of each when I look at them from the flash drive.

    I really have no idea what I'm doing here.

  4. #4
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,430

  5. #5
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110
    CJ,
    I followed all the instructions in the Bing link you provided. Now I have a database with ALL file names have a 1 appended to them and nothing works!

  6. #6
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110
    OK, I figured it out. I needed to delete the existing link before creating the new link.

    Thanks for putting up with my stupidity!

  7. #7
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 11 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    1,654
    try JStreet relinker. https://jstreettech.com/developer-downloads/

    Theres a READ ME table in the database which gives good instructions on how to use it.
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  8. #8
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110
    Moke123,

    I just installed the JStreet relinker. Wow! Thanks for the lead.

    BTW, is there a way to display the currently linked backend DB?

    willkr

  9. #9
    willkr is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    110
    Never mind on the be location. I found out how to do it.

  10. #10
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 11 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    1,654
    Code:
    Private Function fGetBackEndName() As String
    
    'replace "Your Table Name Here" with a table name from your back end (ie. "tblMain")
    
    
      fGetBackEndName = Mid(CurrentDb().TableDefs("Your Table Name Here").Connect, InStrRev(CurrentDb().TableDefs("Your Table Name Here").Connect, "") + 1)
    
    
    End Function
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  11. #11
    Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1,474
    You should also be able to mouse hover over the table and it will show you the connection information.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2020, 07:45 PM
  2. Can't Change Back Color of Subform Controls
    By ItsRoland in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-28-2019, 11:57 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2017, 05:29 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2017, 01:14 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 07:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums