DPR01 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2019

Question Database Table Structure Design

I am new to Access and have created Tables, Forms and Queries so have some familiarity with the program. However, I am not certain it is an effective or efficient way to handle my wants/needs.

I want/need a more efficient inventory management database process.
    I make or buy a product that I use in my personal and professional life. The finished product has many different combinations of the components.
    I buy 4 component types each having many different part IDs and assemble them into the desired finished-product configuration.
    I track both component and finished-product quantities.
    I have created a table for each component and one for the finished product.
    I update the 5 tables via forms and update queries.

My question is: will my inventory system be more effective/efficient if I were to create a single table for both components and finished products?

I would like to create a Single Batch form to update the quantity of each component used and the quantity of finished product added.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    It doesn't sound correct to have a table for each component type.
    I would have thought you would have a single component table that had a component type identifier in it.

Perhaps you could post up a picture of your tables & relationship to give a better picture of the overall design.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

DPR01 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2019