Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Vita's Avatar
    Vita is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    296

    Is there a way to make the procedure line have a buffer space on the top and the bottom by default?

    Procedure separators always underline the last line of code in a procedure which is nice but I think it would look a lot better and more readable if it had a blank line on the top and bottom of it.

    Is there a way to do this? I looked in the options menu and didn't see anything.


    Maybe a way to use a different editor by default with the alt + f11 key combo?

    I know this is a dumb question but thank you for taking the time!

  2. #2
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,801
    Manually, yes. If you mean automatic, I don't know of a setting. A single quote after a new line then another new line will move the quote below the End Sub but before the separator.
    Code:
    array3 = Split(Join(array2, ",") & "," & Join(array1, ","), ",")
    
    End Sub
    '_________________________________________________________________
    
    Function stripAlpha(strIn As String) As String
    The space between ' and the line isn't exactly as shown here but it's close I guess.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  3. #3
    Vita's Avatar
    Vita is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Access 2002
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    Manually, yes. If you mean automatic, I don't know of a setting. A single quote after a new line then another new line will move the quote below the End Sub but before the separator.
    Code:
    array3 = Split(Join(array2, ",") & "," & Join(array1, ","), ",")
    
    End Sub
    '_________________________________________________________________
    
    Function stripAlpha(strIn As String) As String
    The space between ' and the line isn't exactly as shown here but it's close I guess.
    I meant automatically but thank you anyways!

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    No automatic feature. I just always Enter a return to get extra space.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,801
    That works to move the next line of code down further from the line, but it doesn't work to move the line down from the last line of code which is my interpretation of the problem. At least it doesn't for me. But I don't have a problem with the line being tucked up under End Sub.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Right, I Enter a return after last line of code to push the dividing line down and Enter a return after the line to push code down. Enter as many returns as you want.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    4,940
    I dare say someone clever enough could write something with the vba library, but is it worth the effort?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  8. #8
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,801
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Right, I Enter a return after last line of code to push the dividing line down and Enter a return after the line to push code down. Enter as many returns as you want.
    Don't know why that would work for you. Doesn't for me. All it does is add blank lines. The dividing line always remains right under the End Sub.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0001.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	8.1 KB 
ID:	49417





    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0002.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	6.3 KB 
ID:	49418
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  9. #9
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Ooops, my bad memory. I should have looked before I leaped.
    Enters just feed into next procedure, as you show.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  10. #10
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    Just did a little looking and it seems that horizontal line comes immediately after End Sub or End Function.
    There doesn't appear to be a horizontal line on the last proc in a module. The count of lines in that last proc in a module stops with the End Sub or End Function even if you have blank lines following that line.

    Image shows count of BodyLines

    Component/Module Name Proc Name ProcedureType NumBodyLines
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ModHorizontalLineAfterProc.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	27.7 KB 
ID:	49425

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 09-14-2021, 02:37 PM
  2. Bottom Line on my Access screens covered
    By Aztecfan63 in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-04-2020, 01:28 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-25-2018, 09:53 AM
  4. Line on bottom of report table placement!
    By gangel in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2015, 07:50 AM
  5. Make Empty Field Fall To Bottom
    By RichardAnderson in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2013, 10:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums