mwolfod is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2003

Access 2010 vs SQL Server

In preparing for conversion of our Access 2003 database to Access 2010, I noticed that 2010 includes an option to convert to SQL Server.

In a certain FORM on our database we scan images directly into Access. While convenient, this is of course expanding the size of the database rather rapidly. I understand that SQL Server does not have the weird size limitation of Access.

Would it then be worth converting to SQL Server for this reason alone? Or for other reasons as well? We LINK to numerous images in all other areas of the database, and could certainly change this particular FORM to LINK as well, but I thought the SQL Server option would be worth asking about. I know nothing about SQL Server, but imagine it is quite different than Access. I am not an Access pro, either.

Thanks in advance for the informed replies.

NTC is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Access and SQLserver are products with logical differences, oriented toward their target markets. to say that Access has a 'wierd size limitation' is sort of like saying a pickup truck has a wierd size limitation. It is what it is. Using the truck analogy Access is a pickup truck while SQLserver is an 18 wheeler.