Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    ondrejruz is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Date - conversion to the name of the day in another field

Hello. I am a beginner in Access. I have a form and it has 2 fields: Date and Name of the Day. I select a date in the Date field. How can I make sure that the appropriate name is displayed in the Names of the day field? I tried using: =If(Weekday([date])=1;[Sunday]) but it doesn't work for me... Can anyone help? Ondrej

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    In the control source of the NameDay control put =Format([YourDateField], "dddd")

A number of things.
    Don't store this value, just use a query to calculate/display it. If you store it and the date changes you would have to recalculate it and store the new result, which is a recipe with potential for error or not updating.
    [Date] is a very bad name for a field. It is a reserved word and a function in Access. Call it something more meaningful like SalesDate, or OpenDate etc.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    First of all, "Date" is one of many reserved words and should not be used as the name of any object (field, control, form, report etc) A search for Access reserved words will help. InvDate, PurchDate or some thing like that would be much better as it also tells you something about the date.

Also, avoid spaces in any names that you give. Use PurchDate rather than Purch Date which would need to be enclosed in square brackets: [Purch Date]. This will save you much typing and will save you a headache or two when you forget the brackets.

Second. forms don't have fields. Tables have fields. Forms have controls (text boxes, combo boxes etc) which may or may not be bound to fields in the forms Record Source.