PhaerieTail is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Question No Unique Index Found for the Referenced Field of the Primary Table

Hello all,

I'm sure you've seen this question a thousand times, or maybe it's just because I've been googling this for the last 2 hours.

I'm new to Access and have no other ideas of even what to search to fix this, so please help!!

I have two tables - Customers and Jobs. I have assigned each customer a Customer ID and this serves as the primary key for that table. Customer ID is also a foreign key in my Jobs table.

I've successfully created a relationship with referential integrity and cascading updates with the Customer ID in both tables. I would like to do the same for the Customer field in both tables, but I get the error message "No unique index found for the referenced field of the primary table." The goal is obviously to be able to change the customer information in the Jobs table by changing it in the Customers table. It works for Customer ID, but I need it to work for Customer.

Please let me know if I'm missing any integral information - I'm a fast learner but Access has always thrown me for a loop.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Customer info is in the Customer Table. Jobs Info is in Jobs Table. The CustomerID represents the relationship PK-FK between the Tables.
    Please tell us in plain English the process(es) you are trying to support.

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    I'll tell you how I would design the tables.

The goal is obviously to be able to change the customer information in the Jobs table by
    Terrible idea. There should be NO customer info in the Jobs table.

I would have:
    tblCustomers
    --------------
    CustomerID_PK (primary key - Autonumber)
    CustID (Text)
    CustFirstName (Text)
    CustLasrName (Text)
    CustAddress (Text)
    CustCity (Text)
    CustState (Text)