Dave87m is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Table Structure and Calculations Question

Looking for some advice on how to set the below up. Im new to Access and working through some courses but this seems more like a structure/experience question.

Working with loans that have a tiered interest structure based on the time from loan origination. The interest for the loans is setup in a tier structure based on length of time between the Loan Origination Date and the Settlement date typically in 6-month increments. For example: a loan amount of $1000 on given on 1/1/2022. Pay structure may be: 0-6 months – 15%; 7-12months 20%; 13-18months 25%; and so on. If paid back on 9/1/2022, then total return is $1,200 because the payoff fell within the second interest tier.

The challenge is the interest tier structure may vary (typically by % and not time increment). Im trying to build calculations that calculate on a form what the payoff amount should be based on the associated tier structure. My first thought was a Loan Table with dates and amounts and then an interest table with records being the interest percentages in fields that are each six month increment. But Im not sure how to work the math into this to select which interest tier is applicable based on the current time or settlement time from the loan origination date. Or if this two table system is even the best way to do this. Any suggestions?

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    what happens if a partial repayment is made? Or is it a case that any loan can only be settled in full in one payment?

And from a borrowers perspective, a loan made on 1/1/2020 will have the same repayment amount whether the loan is repaid on 1/2/2022 or 6/30/2022? i.e. the interest is not compound

for tables perhaps something like this

tblRateTypes
    RateTypePK...RateTypeName...TierPeriod
    1.................Standard............6
    2.................MatesRates.........9

tblRateTiers