chemguy120 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Automatically Advance Subform To New Record If Date Field Is Not The Current Date

I have a master form (Account) with a subform (Reference) that are linked via the field AccountID. What I am trying to do is, when the form is opened, have the Reference subform automatically advance to a new record only if the ReferenceDate field is not the current date. If it is the current date, then it should stay on that record. I've tried a cursory search but didn't see any solutions jump out at me. If there is a similar post and solution, please point me in the direction! If not, I sure could use some help. Please note, I'm somewhere between novice and beginner in my coding knowledge.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Where is ReferenceDate? Since subforms load first, if date field is on main form, you'll have to run code from main form, not subform.
    If it's on the subform shouldn't be too hard. Did you try to set focus to subform first then DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Windows 10 Office 365
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    Where is ReferenceDate? Since subforms load first, if date field is on main form, you'll have to run code from main form, not subform.
    If it's on the subform shouldn't be too hard. Did you try to set focus to subform first then DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    Yes, the ReferenceDate is on the Reference subform. The form opens to the last record. What I need to happen is that if the ReferenedDate is not the current date it should advance to a new Reference record. If it is the current date it will stay on that same record.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    then perhaps in the subform load event:

If Me.ReferencedDate <> Date Then DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec