Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7

    Chart Data Max?


    I have a query that selects data by date range. Works great! When I display the data on a line chart. It works prefectly until I exceed the 7th day. It won't display the data beyond that point.
    I am missing something, but can't seem to find it. Any Ideas ?

  2. #2
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    post a picture of the chart please.

    what you may have to do is go into the chart view properties and change the time line of the one of the axis. if you're using ms graph and not a pivot chart in a form, it's more of a pain because ms graph is about the worst program ms has ever built!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7
    The image is attached. Notice the date range selected on the top of the chart. It always ends at end of the 6th day. The data is comming directly from a query.

    Attachment 2011

  4. #4
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesr View Post
    The image is attached. Notice the date range selected on the top of the chart. It always ends at end of the 6th day. The data is comming directly from a query.

    Attachment 2011
    what is the sql for the query? for example, if you're using the BETWEEN keyword, the 12th should be in the graph. if you're using strictly operators, make sure yo're not using '<' on the right side of the conditional.

    also, IS there any data for the 12th? if not, it won't be included in the graph if you've used ms graph for the chart. by default, ms graph plots record points ONLY. It does not account for missing periods of time on the y axis.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7
    I have set the date range to be far greater than 7 or 8 days. I have had it set for an entire month. The query shows all of the correct data. It's the chart just won't comply
    Here is the SQL
    SELECT [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAM P, [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_R00231_Flow_Scaled_VALUE
    FROM [MCL ANALOGS]
    WHERE ((([MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAM P) Between [Forms]![Data Range]![Start Date] And [Forms]![Data Range]![End Date]))
    ORDER BY [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAM P, [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_R00231_Flow_Scaled_VALUE;

  6. #6
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Code:
    SELECT [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAMP, 
    [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_R00231_Flow_Scaled_VALUE
    
    FROM [MCL ANALOGS]
    
    WHERE ((([MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAMP) 
    
    Between [Forms]![Data Range]![Start Date] And 
    
    [Forms]![Data Range]![End Date]))
    
    ORDER BY [MCL 
    
    ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_Flare_Temp_Scaled_TIMESTAMP, 
    [MCL ANALOGS].MCL_PLC_ANALOGS_SCALED_R00231_Flow_Scaled_VALUE;[/QUOTE]

  7. #7
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    and again, how was the chart made? through ms graph and the chart wizard? That might be good to know.

    Have you checked the 'y-axis' properties in chart view to see what it says? I don't have an example right now to show you must go ahead and check that out first.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7
    Im not exactly sure what you did. But the [/Quote] on the end is not working
    The error is "Characters found after end of SQL statement
    The syntax error you see is just the way it pasted in this post.

  9. #9
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesr View Post
    Im not exactly sure what you did. But the on the end is not working
    The error is "Characters found after end of SQL statement
    The syntax error you see is just the way it pasted in this post.
    mike,

    the sql post was just to make your previous post readable. it means nothing. please respond to the post 'after' that one. ignore my SQL post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7
    Sure, I used MSGraph on a report form. Using the Chart Object within the design toolbar.
    I think I see what you are getting at. I am probably confused about the following:
    Category X axis (Date Time)
    Value (Y) crosses at Category Number 1
    Number of Categories between Tick marks Labels 30
    Number of Categories beween Tick marks 1

    The Y axis is the Temperature scaling.
    I am sure this is part of the problem. I just don't see how to set these charts up for 30 days of data for example and have the time line indicate 30 date time periods

  11. #11
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesr View Post
    Sure, I used MSGraph on a report form. Using the Chart Object within the design toolbar.
    I think I see what you are getting at. I am probably confused about the following:
    Category X axis (Date Time)
    Value (Y) crosses at Category Number 1
    Number of Categories between Tick marks Labels 30
    Number of Categories beween Tick marks 1

    The Y axis is the Temperature scaling.
    I am sure this is part of the problem. I just don't see how to set these charts up for 30 days of data for example and have the time line indicate 30 date time periods
    you can set whatever time period you want mike. It doesn't matter, but you must set it in chart view because ms graph's default timeline is basically junk. It's not useful. So you have to do it manually if you want it to look right.

    as I said before, the x axis will scale the query column as it sees fit, and (by default), the last time period on the axis will be close to the date of the last record in the query. does that make sense?

    if you want 30 days the best bet is do set it manually.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Fort Myers FL
    Posts
    7
    After googling further, it seems that the graph object is limited to 4000 x 4000 records. That is excatly where it is cutting my data off.
    My only choice is to reduce the data (not a good idea) or use another graphing package.

  13. #13
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    Quote Originally Posted by mikesr View Post
    After googling further, it seems that the graph object is limited to 4000 x 4000 records. That is excatly where it is cutting my data off.
    My only choice is to reduce the data (not a good idea) or use another graphing package.
    glad you found the answer!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Add Text to chart when data = 0
    By mikesr in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 08:21 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 05:39 AM
  3. Design view not showing data (Pivot Chart)
    By thestappa in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 09:59 AM
  4. Chart doesn't show data
    By pbaxter in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 11:09 AM
  5. Pie Chart
    By kathy62959 in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums