asawadude is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2003

Select query for running totals

My Access skills are leaving a lot to be desired, and my self-taught skills are limited to the QBE screens.

I could really use some guidance on how to create a simple query that generates a cumulative total. I have a simplified example of what I need in the attached screen capture.

I have an Excel spreadsheet that performs the evaluation, but in the real world, my sample population contains approximately 800 prototypes with 12 different measurements evaluated. As a result, my spreadsheet is grossly unwieldy.

If someone can help me get started based on the simplified info on the screen capture, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

weekend00 is offline I may not be right
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I don't understand the [# needed] column, most of them are same with [# samples], but the last 3 are not. How did you calculate [# needed]?

Here is a solution to get the total, but this is not a good solution because it runs very very slowly. Actually, Access query is not good at this kind of calculation. If you want speed it up, you need to write some VBA codes.

select *, dsum("# samples","YOURTABLE","SCORE>="& SCORE) from YOURTABLE

asawadude is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by weekend00 View Post
    I don't understand the [# needed] column, most of them are same with [# samples], but the last 3 are not. How did you calculate [# needed]?

Here is a solution to get the total, but this is not a good solution because it runs very very slowly. Actually, Access query is not good at this kind of calculation. If you want speed it up, you need to write some VBA codes.

select *, dsum("# samples","YOURTABLE","SCORE>="& SCORE) from YOURTABLE
    Thanks for the code, I'll give it a try.