Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28
  1. #16
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21

    I realized a combo box wasn't the best way to go about this since we are looking for unique tag numbers and there are 440,000 of them. I used a text box as a search box and put it on the AfterUpdate of that.

  2. #17
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    So it works now?
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  3. #18
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21
    It does not.

  4. #19
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    Can you please post the full code you have for the form? Screenshots of the form in design view showing the searching textbox name and form's record source would help.

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  5. #20
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21
    Me.RecordSource="SELECT * FROM Tags WHERE [Tag#] = " & Me.cboSearch
    that is in After Update

    SELECT * FROM Tags WHERE True=False is the record source

    text3360 is the search box name

  6. #21
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    Please try:
    Code:
    Me.RecordSource="SELECT * FROM Tags WHERE [Tag#] = " & Me.text3360  'assumes the [Tag#] field is numeric
    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  7. #22
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21
    Still says cannot find object me.

  8. #23
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    The code needs to to in the form's module, can you take of screen shot of the code window?
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  9. #24
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture11.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	194.7 KB 
ID:	46699
    Here is the form.

  10. #25
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    Aha, thanks for that. You need to remove what you have in the After Update property and choose "Event Procedure" from its drop down on the right. Then click on the builder (the ... on the right) and it will open the VBE window where you will see something like this, it is there where you add the code:
    Code:
    Option Compare Database
    Option Explicit
    
    Private Sub text3360_AfterUpdate()
    
    Me.RecordSource="SELECT * FROM Tags WHERE [Tag#] = " & Me.text3360
    
    End Sub
    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  11. #26
    Lateralusx777 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    21
    I did that and it is still the same issue. I am going to find a different approach to this.

  12. #27
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,115
    Same issue like in cannot find the object Me (this cannot happen if you put the code in the form's module) or the same issue like in crashing?
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  13. #28
    bubai is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Dhaka
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by Lateralusx777 View Post
    I am not sure how to make my form load without records without applying an on load record filter which then needs removed to display results.
    Make Data Entry = Yes on the forms property sheet on the Data tab. This will stop all of the records from being displayed. OR if you do not want any filter on load clear the filter property or change Filter on load = No.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-22-2021, 09:00 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2016, 02:49 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-06-2014, 09:47 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 06:22 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 11:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums