Jdubya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Enter table record on form, but check value in field in another table. If ok increment checked field

Hi everyone

I am new to Access, a beginner. I'm helping a friend with a database for his charity, and although I have mastered the simple things, I am stuck on how to do the following

I have a form where sessions can be added for a client, which update a table called Client sessions, keyed on Client ID/Session ID/Care package ID
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2021-11-04 (3).png 
Views:	25 
Size:	113.0 KB 
ID:	46544

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2021-11-04 (4).png 
Views:	25 
Size:	111.6 KB 
ID:	46545

When the user adds a record to the Client sessions file, I need a check to be made on another table called Care Package master, keyed on Client ID/Care package ID, that the care package number they enter on the form exists for that client in the Care package master table, and if so that all the sessions in that care package haven't been used (it has 2 fields - Sessions in package and Sessions used). If Client ID/Care package ID combination not in the master table, produce an error message. If all sessions used, produce an error message. If it does exist and sessions available then increment by 1 the Sessions used field in the Care package master.

Thanks for any help.

moke123 is online now Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Before you go any further I would get rid of all the spaces in your table names and field names.
    It will save you a lot of future problems.
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

Jdubya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Thanks for the advice

Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit