MatP is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit

Access as a business platform

Hi all,

I graduated in mechanical engineering and have always had a soft spot for programming. I have had a few jobs in the past, and was able to teach myself some VBA and did a lot of custom macros in excel for my employers. I am always fascinated by how little excel functionnality is actually used in the workplace... So a few years ago I got comfortable enough with my Excel knowledge that I decided to start exploring Access. I started from nothing, had no idea how to do anything on this platform. But I did my research and I started with smaller, more manageable projects when I spotted an opportunity. Fast-forward 3 years and I am now an average user. My greatest accomplishment is an ERP system I developped for my company that is being used by about 8-12 people daily. I got recognition for the work I did and I am now asked for modifications and new functionality on a regular basis.

I like this platform and I wouldn't mind doing this kind of work as a small time hobby/side-gig. I've been reading up on MS Access and the thing that sends me questionning my path is all the buzz about how Access is on its way out or being crushed by more adept software. Is this true? if so, how long does Microsoft plan on supporting Access? I'm not looking for big time contracts, but if I could solicitate and work for a few small and local businesses, I would be happy. If the platform is doomed to obsolescence in the next few years, there's no point in sinking any more hours into it. And if that's the case, what is the closest thing to Access but that is more "next-gen"?

Thanks for all your input,

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016