frobro390 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Returning multiple records Isn't what I need

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Access and could certainly use a class on some of the more complex stuff, like SQL... I've got a database that I am using to track clients who come and go from the facility. I've got two tables, a Client_Info table and a Client_Log table. Client info keeps track of all current residents, the log table is where all the time entries are kept.

I want to run a query that will allow me to find out everyone who is currently logged out, and where they are logged out to. The Client_Info table is as follows:

Client_ID | Prefix | First_Name | Middle_Initial | Last_Initial | On_Campus | Current_Resident

Client_Log:

Log_ID | Client_ID | Destination | Purpose | Event_Time | Event_Date

I put a query together that checks the On_Campus field, and Current_Resident fields and combines data from both tables, and I am almost getting the results I need. Unfortunately I am getting each and every event for each person If they are currently off campus. I only want the most current event in the client log.

Does anyone have any possible solutions?

Thank you in advance, and please forgive my lack of etiquette, this is my first post.

Anthony

weekend00 is offline I may not be right
    Windows XP Access 2003
    you described you situation very clearly.

you need a sub query to find out the most current event for each person, e.g. select client_id, max(datetime) from client_log group by client_id.

then join to client_info to get other info.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Thank you Weekend00, so I think I understand what you are saying. I unfortunately don't understand much SQL, but obviously if this is something I want to pursue I should start to study up. I'll post my results.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Talk about feeling stupid... So here is the query as is, where would I apply said sub-query, and... how?