aat is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007

Database "corrupted"

Hello,
    I am quite new to access and learnt everything almost by myself; I have built a database with over 800 records so far and weighting 2gb (I put attached pdf documents to records for documentation).

While updating some records, i had a first bug when trying to upload a file tonight, with an error message "could not open database "". I don't mind, i cancel my upload, i save my record, i refresh my databse, locate the same record, retry the uplaod, and then it works.

A few records later, it does the same: "cannot open database "", the file may be in use or corrupt". I refresh, retry, doesn't work anymore. I close access, re-open, open my database, and ho surprise, no more records.

I start to panick because it took me a year to build this database and even with my last backup I would loose 100 records and to me it's a lot of work.

my file stills weight 2gb, but when opening with access, even after reboot, no trace of any record. I also did a "manage > repair", which generated a table called MsysCompactError, containing error codes -1022, -1611, -1206, and description such as "could not find field "description"", and even some chinese stuff in the column ErrorRecid: 瀀ª.

I'm quite keen on learning chinese but not on this occasion.

I tried the link allenbrowne shown on other posts but I'm speachless when trying to understand because I'm convinced my databse is not corrupt; the design is rather simple, and it has worked for almost one year without much problem!!! i didnot redesign anything recently, so I am clueless. I use it everyday, 10 hours a week, to add new records and update existing ones, so it's quite a routine work I was doing tonight.

Could anyone propose a magic trick to get me out of here???