Sadsfan is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Inserting fields from a record when a selection is made in a ComboBox

I am a beginner using Access. And I am creating a database to log telephone calls. I have two tables, one called 'Families' and another one called 'Call Records'

'Families' has the following fields:

• 'Family'
    • 'Children
    • 'Status Code 1'
    • 'Status Code 2'
    • 'Status Code 3'

I have created a form in 'Call Records', I have added a ComboBox that lists the family names from the 'family' field in the 'Families' table.
    What I would like is, that, when they select a name, it populates other text boxes with the other fields for that record from the 'families' table. Is it possible to do that?
    I am using Access 2016.

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Include all the required fields in the Row Source property of the combo box using a predefined query or an SQL Select statement.

Adjust the Column Count property to include all the required fields and the Column Widths properties for each column.

Set the Control Source property of a text box to = NameOfComboBox.Column(1)
    The figure in brackets refers to which column you want the data from. First column is (0), second is (1) etc.
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thanks Bob, I will have a try at that, I'm a beginner, so some of that sounds complex to me, but I will have a go at figuring it out!

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by Sadsfan View Post
    Thanks Bob, I will have a try at that, I'm a beginner, so some of that sounds complex to me, but I will have a go at figuring it out!
    Good Luck
    Let us know if you need any further help.
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick