Yeti is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003

Brand new - Help with my tables!

Hello -

I'm brand new to Access and don't know how do define what I'm trying to do, or I'd look it up

I have a table consisting of an employee ID (primary key) and a bunch of fields related to data regarding the employee.

I have a second table that is simply a one-column list of Employee ID numbers that indicate "the following employees should be regarded as having status X"

I want to add a column titled "Status X" to my first table that simply places a "yes" for employees who are listed in the second table and a "no" otherwise.

How should I go about this?

Thanks!

Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    If you already have the information in another Table, I'd strongly recommend against adding the information to your main Table. That leads to data duplication and can cause mass confusion later on down the road when you need to update the information (where do you change the information: In the separate table or in the main one? What if you update one but use the other in a Form, Report, or Query somewhere? etc.)

That said, you can do what you're asking. . .

1. Open the main Employees Table and switch it to Design View.
    2. Find the first blank row and add the item to it.
    3. Enter a Descriptive but short name under Field Name. Try not to include spaces or any characters other than letters or numbers.
    4. Set the Data Type to Yes/No.
    5. Put whatever Description you feel is appropriate under Description.

If the number of Employees that have this "Status X" is small enough, you can then manually go through and add a check mark to those that need it. If it's longer, you can build a Query that updates the information for you.

Because you're duplicating data by adding this field, I'd suggest you delete the other Table once you're sure all the information has been transferred to the main table.