thekruser is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007

Eliminate dead code

Anyone know how to eliminate dead code without having to search line-by-line?

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by thekruser View Post
    Anyone know how to eliminate dead code without having to search line-by-line?
    How would you know? Even if you searched line by line? Wouldn't you have to operate the program to know that?

What do you mean by "dead code"?

*Procedures that are in the VBE that are not linked to object events?
    *Actual code that's never used throughout?

If you're talking about the first option, yes you could use the Extensibility library to search that and delete the code out that's not linked to objects.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Dead code meaning code tied to cmdMyButton even though MyButton has been deleted.

I am new to VBA, so I am not sure what the 'Extensibility library' is or where to find it. Can you explain?

Thank you for your response!

if you're new to the language, you probably won't understand the ext. library at all. just being honest there.

as far as code tied to controls and objects, all code is deleted automatically when the object or control is deleted, so you don't have to worrry about that type of code. The only exception to this (I think) is when you write code behind an EVENT and then only delete the "event procedure" words in the property sheet. It might be the other way around though, not sure.

however, if you have code in a standard module such as:
    Code:
    forms("form").controls("cmdButton").enabled=false
    and that button has been deleted from the form, I would think it would be much trickier.