joberti is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Update a table from a form that contains a calculated field

I am new to Access and I have been trying to learn some basics as I feel there is much more things that can be done in Access than Excel. I am starting with something simple like creating the Eisenhower Matrix (importance, Urgency, Effort).
    I am trying to create a Form that pulls fields from a table and calculates a separate field based on the data. This would also be dynamic as any changes to the data will automatically calculate the field.

tbl_Effort

EffortID
    Rate (1-5)
    Description

tbl_Impact
    ImpactID
    Rate (1-5)
    Definition

tbl_Task
    TaskID
    Prioritize (calculated field Effort+Impact)
    Effort (Combo Box; Rate)
    Impact (Combo Box; Rate)

I am trying to create a way automatically calculate the Prioritize field based on the selections in the Effort and Impact field. My understanding is that it is preferable to use Queries instead of calculation in a Table. Unfortunately, the Combo Box results are completely altered when making edits to those fields in that Form. It apparently no longer pulls the data from the table and it will not store updates to the table.

Combo Box Preferable Results Combo Box Results after editing a field
    High 3
    Medium Medium
    Low Low

How do I approach this?

*Update: I attached a screenshot of the database relationship. Unfortunately, I could only reduce the file to 516 even after compiling and repairing it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Database.JPG  
    Last edited by joberti; 03-17-2020 at 11:40 PM.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 10 Office 365

Access Database