njosh is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit

Relative beginner: Addressing misspellings in key field, looking to speed up the process

Hi all,

I am relatively new to using Access in my new job. I've been tasked with fixing what was though to be a simple issue with a database that contains a bunch of biological data (I'm an ecologist so it contains data from sampling freshwater streams). The previous employees that entered data into the database seem to not have taken the time to learn how Access works or how the database is organized, so I've had to do a lot of work (e.g., missing data, Unique ID's for sites that were never sampled, Typos in the unique ID's, etc etc). Currently, I'm addressing misspellings in the taxonomic names of organisms. To explain the organization a little: There is a table called "Benthics" that contains the unique ID for each sampling event (Field: ActivityID), an Identification for each taxa found in a sampling event (Field: FinalID), and the number of individuals of each taxon (Field: Individuals). The FinalID field is the key field that relates to a table that has a single entry for every Taxa and associated information about that organism (A master taxa list with life history information about those taxa; e.g., how it feeds, general behavior, how tolerant it is to pollution).