fredj5000 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit

syntax error (missing operator) in query expression in datasheet view of form

I have been using the same data file for 3 years now for my personal sales CRM, and have had issues with my everyday contact form. In the datasheet view om my form, when clicking on the drop down to filter records I get the "syntax error (missing operator) in the query expression ..." on 3 fields (callback date, contact name, & company name). It did not used to to this, but has been for about a year now. This was all created with GUI, and I haven't written code in 20 years. Where do I even look?

Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Can you give more detail. So you have a form you open in Datasheet view and if you click on any of those 3 fields to filter by drop down, once you select something it gives you that error? Do you have other fields in that datasheet form that you can filter that does not give you that error? Is there data in those fields for the value you are filtering?

That was quick. Thank you!

When I click on the drop down I get the error message, I click OK, and then I can filter. There are 20 fields in the datasheet, and this error only occurs on those 3 fields. Most of the records have a value, but some are blank. That was never an issue before the error message appeared. I used to be able to check/uncheck dates from the drop down, and it just disappeared a while back.

Bulzie is offline VIP
    So the error appears when you just click on the arrow to bring up the options I believe you said, but when you click ok, then you can go select what you want and it does the filter?

That is correct. What is missing is a list of options to check/uncheck. I have to manually enter values to search for. It is like it lost its index.

Gicu is online now VIP