dunamisqueen is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)

Autofill Multiple Fields in a Form from One Record in a Table

Hi There:

I'm relatively new to access. I have a form for Sales Transactions in which I have a combo box to select a producer's company name via a query. I want to be able to have an event automatically fill in the producer's contact name and information (i.e. mailingaddress, telephone, etc.) from the ProducerContactInformation table. The goal with this Sales Transactions form is to be able to create a report that is actually a sales agreement that gets sent to the producer. I know how to set up creating the report, I just need to know how to autofill the contact information fields. How can I do this relatively easily and quickly?

I really appreciate any help. I'm a bit stumped. Thanks a bunch!

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    use dlookup()

it's slow, but you probably don't have many fields to fill. use this syntax:
    Code:
    private sub combox_afterupdate

me.address = dlookup("addressfield", "table", _
          "[criteriafield] = '" & me.companyname & "'")

end sub
    write a lookup for every field that's needed.

I've tried the dlookup method for the group of fields that I need to autofill, but it won't work. It fills the first field only and nothing happens with the rest of them. Have I input the dlookup incorrectly or have I created a part of my database incorrectly. My dlookup that didn't work correctly was all listed under the one combox_afterupdate.

Any further assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    if you did do something incorrectly in the database it's not worth fixing unless it's big. But you won't know unless you've studied proper setup techniques.