Mbroeth is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Using a pop-up form to enter data into line item subform

Hi all, I am still learning with access and I am working on a Quote/ order database. I have a Quote form with a line item subform. My problem is our products are custom built so in addition to various products there are hundreds of sizes combinations for each product all with there own price. I will have over 2500 product codes. Also, different products will require different input information. With this in mind, I will not be able to simply have a combo box that the user selects the product, I need to narrow down the choices.

I currently have for Line Items [Type, Quantity, Code, Product, Description, Price]. My idea was to have the user select from one of 4 types in the first combo box then click a button that launches a tabbed popup form that the user can enter necessary info for that line item and further narrow down options using cascading combo boxes. Then the user would hit a close button on that form and the info would be sent to the fields of the line item form.

I have this started but can't make it work right. My popup details form's record source is set to the same table as the Line Item form. But it seems like this is causing a problem because I start a new line item record with the line item form then jump to the detail from to continue editing the same record then back to Line Item form to finish the record. Is this the wrong way to go about it? Should the Details go to a separate table that has a one to one relationship with the line Items?

Any input would help, Thanks!

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2016
    Why use a popup form? Why not just have the cascading combo boxes on your subform?
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

Hi