Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    chippy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6

    Form Not Loading in 2016

    I developed a database in 2013 access since that is the version we use in the office. In that database is a lookup form where you enter the values of the for the item you want reports on. Basically I have a lookup table that all the queries and reports look to, you enter your look up value in the form text box, press the update buttons and the values in the lookup table will be changed. Below is the code used for that buttons.

    Code:
     Private Sub Command11_Click()    Dim sql As String
        sql = sql & "UPDATE Navigation_Entry "
        sql = sql & "SET Area='" & Area.Value & "' "
        sql = sql & "WHERE ID=0"
        CurrentDb.Execute sql
    End Sub
    This works perfectly fine in 2013 but a co-worker opened the database in 2016 and it stated that an error occurred and the lookup form could not be loaded. If you tell it to close the form and continue opening, then you get an error saying the VBA is corrupted. At that point you have two options, delete all VBA in the database or if you tell it not to delete the VBA then the error message keeps popping up and you need to ctrl+shift+esc and end the process.

    Couple of further comments to help;
    - I took this file home and tested it on my personal computer that has 2016 and got the same errors.


    - I have tried adjusting that trust center security settings to allow macros but it did not help.
    - Probably that strangest thing is that I have 3 databases in total that use this same form with the exact same buttons (literally built the first one then copied and modified it to get the other two). The other two databases work fine on 2016. No errors loading or VBA corruption. Only difference between them is the three is that this one need 4 values for a lookup and the others only need 2 but I can't see why that would mess things up.

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    I have had this too. A corrupted form and no matter what, it would not load.

    you could try importing again.
    if fails...
    You could ,in 2016, create a new blank form,
    copy all the code form 2013, paste into the new form. (or import code from a text file)
    you might be able to copy the objects too.
    At worst, you could rebuild the objects from scratch.

  3. #3
    chippy is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for the advice. I tried importing and it didn't worked.

    Also as an experiment I tried deleting items from the form and opening it in 2016 to try and narrow down the issue. I deleted everything until there was a single text box and it still gave me the error, so it would seem it is just the form itself that is bugged. Will just have to rebuild it in 2016 to see if that works.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Loading pictures (JPGs) to item in Access 2016 database
    By George Grazebrook in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2016, 12:01 PM
  2. Loading older databases into Access 2016
    By cliezert in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-15-2016, 07:39 AM
  3. Loading A Form
    By Robert2150 in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-24-2015, 01:38 PM
  4. loading empty form
    By Suzie2012 in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 07:03 PM
  5. Auto Loading a Form
    By toddbuckles in forum Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums