srj1957 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Question What is the easiest/better way to Validate data entry...

Yes a total Newbie to Access Forms and I have searched the forum and found many ways to validate data entered in a form, but which is the easiest / Best to use here in this scenario...

Here is the requirement

I have a 4 Field FORM that data is entered in to populate, let's say "Table Z" ...

Field 1 -REQUIRED Field - When user enters data - it must be on Dictionary Table X

Field 2 -REQUIRED Field - When user enters data - it must be on Dictionary Table Y

Field 3 -REQUIRED Field

Field 4 -REQUIRED Field

Do I use BeforeUpdate, AfterUpdate, DoLookup, a Query ???..
    Please help !!

Hopefully someone out here will help and point me in th right direction to get me solution
    Last edited by srj1957; 08-19-2010 at 09:40 AM. Reason: Better title

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    For each of the first 2, I'd probably use a combo box that got its selections from the other table (row source property), with its limit to list property set to yes. Set all 4 to required in the table and Access will do all the work for you.

If you wish to do your own validation, the proper place is the before update event:

http://www.baldyweb.com/BeforeUpdate.htm
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    For each of the first 2, I'd probably use a combo box that got its selections from the other table (row source property), with its limit to list property set to yes. Set all 4 to required in the table and Access will do all the work for you.

If you wish to do your own validation, the proper place is the before update event:

http://www.baldyweb.com/BeforeUpdate.htm
    Thanks for the reply I appreciate your time and advice ...