evanurb is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

New to Access - Trying to create a pricing sheet using materials list

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to access and we are trying to implement a database to create quotes for our products. I work at a sign business so we have a large number of different materials that get added into our jobs.

So far, I created a master table that includes the following fields: Material ID, Material Name, Material Category, and Material Cost. I also created individual tables for each material category with the material names and costs.

Ideally, I want to create a form that allows users to add in various materials and the necessary quantities that would then calculate the overall cost of the sign. I am unsure of how to go about this because I tried added in combo boxes for each material category but that only allows for a singular material to be entered where in many cases we use multiple materials of the same category in our products.

We currently use two Access databases that were created by our production manager to track jobs and create work orders but it recently became my job to start improving our current databases and implement a new one that we can use to price out jobs. As of now, we are just using a simple Excel spreadsheet that lists all the materials to create quotes but implementing this into a database would allow us to track the data more efficiently as well as track inventory.

Like I said, I'm by no means an expert in Access or databases in general but I tend to pick up these kind of things fairly quickly so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    no, you want 1 table for ALL Materials, with the MatType field to say what kind of material so they are all in 1 table.

Just to add to what ranman said,