t_dot is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 97

Post Append Query position

Hi, I am quite new to using access and I have a database set up with date, title and event. I have a table with 2000 entries and have created a form to add new entries to the table -- where lies my problem. I have created an append query with each column of the table that references the table and each references the correct combobox/textfield on the form. I have a "submit" button on the form that runs the query with the data entered on the form. After I click submit, a confirmation message comes up and I click yes to run the query. Then a second window comes up that says "You are about to append 0 row(s)" -- which is not my intention.

It's probably a small thing, but I have never used this append function before and am not totally sure how it runs. What do I need to do to make it append the data that it is passed?

Thanks

pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Is there a reason you're using a query instead of just having the form bound to the table? Does the error give you any other info (key violations, etc)? Make sure the append query is populating all fields that are set to required in the table.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

t_dot is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 97
    I am only using a query because I thought that I had to; is it easier to attach the form to the table? I know how to open the form with the button on the form, but how can I get it to append the new data to the end of the table?

There is no error the way that I have it set up now, everything runs through fine and it successfully appends 0 rows as it says... I just don't know why it appends 0 when I have information in the form and the query has reference to each piece.

Windows XP Access 2007