Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55
  1. #1
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97

    Impossible to open more database

    Ok consider error message as a translation of me on an error I get in french, I splitted my db... and now I try to open Controls heavy form I used to work with on this non-splitted db and it tells me this... what is the problem ?

    also when I splitted the DB, I stored the Backend db on the network and the Front end on the network, now opening forms is slow as hell... anyone have an idea ? I thought Access was suppose to be multiple user ?

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    To start, the FrontEnd should be on the local machine. http://allenbrowne.com/ser-01.html

  3. #3
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    sorry for the mp yeah even with the front end on each pc I get this cannot open more database

    here is the link to my db there is 2 problematic forms and they are F_Calendrier
    F_Calendrier2

    if you ever need them

    http://rapidshare.com/files/411233681/Mil-be.zip

  4. #4
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    You can get the FrontEnd open normally but when you try to open this control heavy form you get the error, correct?

  5. #5
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    Yes, but if my DB is not splitted everything works as intended... only when my db is splitted that i cannot open those 2 forms i mentionned in my earlier post

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    You are using the built in Splitter in Access 2007 right?

  7. #7
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    Yes I used the built in splitter, I tried doing it manually too creating 2 new db and using acces to link the tables but alas... it's not working

  8. #8
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Sorry! I missed the post where you posted the db. I'll download and look at it. Give me a few minutes.

  9. #9
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    sorry if it's in french but the I think you can still understand how it works

  10. #10
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Aside from my lack of any French skills, this is some pretty complex code. I tip my hat to you. Can you unsplit the system for now to get you through the demo? I have not been able to pin down what is happening yet.

  11. #11
    Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    875
    I've run into a similar error before that may be what you're experiencing. If the users don't have permission to modify (and create new) files on the network folder where the backend is, they will get an error saying that the Database is locked by another user.

    Check to make sure they have sufficient permissions (need at least "Modify" in Windows) on the Folder. If you're connecting through a Share, be sure to check the Share permissions too.

  12. #12
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    Rawb,
    I downloaded his sample and the FE and BE are in the same trusted location and I get the error.

  13. #13
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    Yeah, but it's not only a demo it's suppose to be a grand opening hahaha but it's ok I drank so many coffey and coke to be able to get this calendar working...

    Rawb: I don't think it's the problem, if I split the DB on my desktop I still get those errors

  14. #14
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,923
    I still can't locate where the database(s) are being opened. It is starting to make a little sense though.

  15. #15
    Grooz13 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    97
    Oh man if you can do something I'll love you forever lol I'll send you money through paypal whatever but god, your the man I was getting so desperate

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 02:24 PM
  2. open a secure database
    By ngeng4 in forum Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 10:57 PM
  3. cannot open any database
    By Factor in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 12:51 PM
  4. Have database open automatically
    By Norman Masson in forum Access
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 07:41 AM
  5. Open form in another database
    By Karyn-2000 in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 10:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums