Chrtalgo is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Calculated column, first letters of last word in an other field

Hi,

I have just started using Access, and have encountered a problem.

I have a case register where the person in charge of the case is listed (Firstname Middlename Lastname), in the "Employee" field.
    What I need is a field for a calculated case number. The field "case number" must return like this:

2017-FLA-1234

Where "2017" is the year retrieved from the "Date registered" field,
    "FLA" is first letter in first name and first two letters in last name (Firstname Middlename Lastname)
    "1234" is four random generated digits.

Unique listings in field "Case number" should not be allowed.

I am very new to Access and not familiar with VBA at all. I manage to get everything except the first letters of the last name. I have searched the web and not found anything that I can get to work. Looks like whats stopping me is that you are not allowed to use custom functions in a calculated column.

I am hoping for a bit of help, either by calculating the case number as soon as the employee is selected, or by having it calculated when a save button is pressed in a new case form.

Thanks in advance!

aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit
    Not sure what you mean by "you are not allowed to use custom functions in a calculated column" - ? The other problem you are facing is what happens when a person's is carried on a table in one field. It should always be two separate fields - one for first and middle names and the lastname in its own field. If at all possible, change it now before you go any further.

isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Agree with aytee except suggest 3 separate name fields to avoid issues with Anne Marie vs Anne-Marie
    You also need to plan ahead for last names like O'Neill. Will you use ON or O'?