markdd1961 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

trouble understanding relationships between three? tables

I am new to Access and have been googling for an answer, but I think I am just using the wrong words to find the solution what I am trying to accomplish

I have an excel sheet of survey data. Each row is the set of responses from one person and a unique generated token for each row.
    several questions allow the person to enter in open ended-text.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	eampledata.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	132.2 KB 
ID:	30696

I would like to add one or more "codes", words the summarize the text. Those codes exist in a separate table:

Name:	codes.JPG 
Size:	15.4 KB 
ID:	30698

I want to associate the answer in column "b" (open_test_entry1) of the raw data table with one or more codes from column "A" in the code table. Then I would like to have a third table that saves the Unique Token from column "A" (generated_token) with the codes entered for correct row and column of the (open_test_entry1).

Name:	enter_codes.JPG 
Size:	60.8 KB 
ID:	30699

I have created the raw data table and the codes table. I added a column to the raw data table that calls a look up to the codebook table. I have made that work with a form, but it seems an inelegant solution. I don't want to modify the raw data table at all (i.e. add columns). But for the life of me I cant understand how to create a table that pulls in the token (unique identifier) from a row and the correct test from the cell in that row, then add codes to that text and store them into a table so the two are forever linked.

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    I want to associate the answer in column "b" (open_test_entry1) of the raw data table with one or more codes from column "A" in the code table.