Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    cherold is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    82

    Is there a way to use double-click command on a full row in a table-displaying form?

    I have a form that displays data in a table format. I set the first two fields so that if I double-click on them it opens up a form that displays more specifics for that row.

    Ideally, instead of having to set a double-click command for each field in a row, it would be preferable if there were a way to tell the form that if I double-click on any field in that row, it opens the other form. I know I can just create a separate double-click command for each field, but before I bother doing that I wanted to ask if there's any way to set a double-click command for an entire row?

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Try the form DblClick event. Example from my db:

    Private Sub Form_DblClick(Cancel As Integer)
    Call ViewLabData("DoubleClick", Me.tbxLABNUM)
    End Sub

    The double click would have to occur on the record selector on left side of form. I put a label on form that instructs user to do this to open a form to view data.
    Last edited by June7; 08-07-2017 at 03:44 PM.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,801
    I don't think the form can fire any suitable events by clicking on controls - even if you make the control background transparent. OnCurrent would work, but as I said, it's not suitable. If this is a continuous form, you could add a button but it would appear on every record. At least it could make use of any of the fields in the particular record. I've also tried this in the past by placing text boxes behind a row of transparent controls and it doesn't work either, but it does raise the text box to the top of the stack if it gets the focus, which is completely useless.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2014, 03:25 AM
  2. Double click on listbox to open up form
    By EthanMoist in forum Forms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-21-2013, 02:10 PM
  3. On Double Click Open Form with two criteria
    By AndreasPanayiotou in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2012, 08:47 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 11:25 AM
  5. Opening another form by double click
    By chrisjack001 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 02:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums