Ecologist_Guy is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Best Way to Handle Different Latitude and Longitude Formats

Hi everybody,

I am trying to create a database that can work with different formats of latitude and longitude. Specifically, I want users to be able to enter one of these three formats on a form and for the database automatically convert among the three formats:

Degrees-Minutes-Seconds: DDD o MM' SS.S"
    Degrees-Decimal Minutes: DDD o MM.MMMM'
    Decimal Degrees: DDD.DDDDD o

I am fairly new to Access so I am curious how others would handle this situation. I was thinking of having each format listed in my table and the associated form. Users would only enter coordinates in one format and Access would automatically calculate the other formats and auto-fill them. Is this possible? What is the best approach to doing something like this? The mathematical conversions are not hard but I'm not sure of the best approach to take when coding this. Perhaps there is a better way to approach this.

In case anybody is curious, the reason we don’t use one standard format is because this is a citizen science project marking sea turtle nest sites. Volunteers in the community collect data and they could be using smart phone apps or GPS units to mark their location. Some of the participants can’t change their units or don’t know how. Last year we realized that many made conversion errors while submitting their data. From my perspective, it seems like it would be easier to let them use the format they are familiar with and let access handle the conversions. The easier we make the process for them the more participation we get and the more thorough our survey is.

Thanks for your help.

aytee111 is offline Competent At Times
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit