Silvia is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007

Best way to share Access Database over a network (FE/BE configuration)

Hello,

I realize there are tons of articles on the Internet addressing this issue and that's precisely my problem: too many articles talking about stuff I don't know about for me to be able to ascertain which solution would be best for me. So that's why I'm here asking for a few tips and recommendations to point me in the right direction so I can focus my research a bit.

I will describe the issue. First of all, let me say that while I'm a reasonably experienced programmer (both in MS Access and not), but I've always programmed Desktop software so I've no idea about web services, web servers or anything like that, so please break it down a bit for me, OK? =)

Now, I have 2 situations.

In one case, I have a FE/BE configuration for a small family business set up in Spain. They have set up the BE in a shared folder in the main computer of the office and several computers have access to this shared folder and, therefore, the BE. Then, each computer has a copy of the FE on their Desktops and everyone works at the same time against the same BE. It has been working very well so far. Problem: some of the employees are going to start working remotely so we need to set up either the BE or the whole program (I'm not sure) somewhere so it can be accessed over the Internet - they work in an area where Internet reception is really good so there should be no problem with that.