mbolster is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Searching mutiple tables

Hi, I'm having a problem searching certain criteria and displaying it in my form.

My database is set up as having a table of contacts, with a contactID. There are also 4 tables of calls (call1, call2...), each linked to contacts with contactID.
    My form displays the contact information, as well as 4 subforms for the calls.

I set it up so that the contactID for the calls would change when the contactID for the main form changed, so that the call information for that contact would show the right contact's calls.

I also have a search that searches the information of the calls, but obviously displays all of the calls and the contact information for the records meeting that criteria.

I'm pretty new to Access, so can any one please help me out and give me an idea of how to do this? Am i setting up the database wrong? Thanks a bunch!

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    I suspect you're setting up the db wrong. Why are there 4 tables for calls? I would expect 1 table, with perhaps a field to designate call type (or whatever the 4 tables represent).
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Windows XP Access 2007
    There are 4 tables for calls because the calls are in order. The first call call1, second call2, etc. They are kind of distinct I guess. I believe this is what was asked, but I'm certainly no expert, and if a single table with all of the calls would be better for this, including a number for which call it is then I'm willing to chance it if it helps with this search problem.

Windows XP Access 2007
    This SQL statement is sort of what I want

SELECT * FROM contacts WHERE Form_contactsForm.Call1.Form.....Value = ?

What should I put at ? if I want to get the results from a different table? The tables are linked by ContactID, so I figure there must be a way to do it...frustrating.