Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    daddylongtoe is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7

    Question Forms opening on new record entry

    Hi

    Currently I have a form which opens to allow the user to enter a new purchase order. The problem I have is that when you open the form it always displays the first record from the table.



    Want I want to know is how can I set the form to open ready for a new entry by default?

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    go to Form Properties - Data - Data Entry - Select Yes

  3. #3
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    if you are opening the form using a command button you can also add acFormAdd
    DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria,acFormAdd

  4. #4
    daddylongtoe is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7

    Question

    Thanks for the response, that does work. I was hoping to allow the user to still go back through previous record entries using the same form if possible. Making the change in the form properties to Data Entry: Yes doesn't let me go back through previous record entries.

    If this isn't possible I may just have to add a seperate form for viewing previous entries and use the current one for adding new ones. How do I change the viewing order so it displays the most recent entry first?

    Thanks again

  5. #5
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    Quote Originally Posted by daddylongtoe View Post
    Hi

    Currently I have a form which opens to allow the user to enter a new purchase order. The problem I have is that when you open the form it always displays the first record from the table.

    Want I want to know is how can I set the form to open ready for a new entry by default?

    Thanks

    Steve
    Well it seems that your problem has changed:

    to display all the info back again on the form DataEntry property has to be set to no.

    E.g.

    put this piece of code in the onclick event of a command button on the form.
    Me.DataEntry = False

    I have a product form which opens in the data entry mode. what I have done is that I have made the record source:

    SELECT Products.Products_Id, Products.Product_Name FROM Products ORDER BY Products.Product_Name;


    This ensures that the data is displayed by the order of product names but as the DataEntry property is set to yes a blank form opens all the time. But now when I click the command button wit the code all data is displayed. Hope this will help you. If it does mark the thread solved.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Access freezes when opening forms
    By thorpef1 in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 04:48 PM
  2. Opening form to correct record. Bookmark?
    By stephenaa5 in forum Forms
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 02:43 PM
  3. Three Questions on Data Entry Using Forms
    By The_Rattlesnake in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 06:04 AM
  4. Opening Form in Data Entry Mode Problem
    By alsoto in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 07:45 PM
  5. Help!!! user friendly forms/date entry
    By megank in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 09:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums