dgerundo is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Child Form Breaks Link to Master Form after Row Insert (adding a new Row)

The functionality of this Form is to be able to search for an Employee and their detailed information and then make a copy of the details and be able to edit (change) any of the details. In this way all of the 'original' information is saved and can be reviewed as an audit trail.

I have a Master Form composed of Employees linked to a Child Form composed of Employee details(skills, status, Staff Title etc.) My goal is to allow the user to find an Employee in the Master Form and then display the detail information. After that the user can click on a "DUPLICATE" Button to insert a row into the database that contains the original detail information. Then the user should be able to Edit the details.

Most of this functionality works BUT after the DUPLICATE Button is clicked the Child Form moves to a NEW Record rather than the "copied record". It also seems that the Child Form has lost its link to the Master Form since I cannot navigate through the child records anymore. The 'Record" number on the bottom of the child window displays "1 of 1" . If I close the Form and then reopen it I can find the inserted child record with the copied data.

I have executed Me.Refresh, Me.Requery in my code after the SQL Insert command but these methods do not work. I am using MS Access 2013 and the data is an Access database as well. It seems that after the new record is inserted into the access table the linking between the Master and Child Forms is broken. I do not know what I must execute to re-establish the links between these forms again.

thanks,
    Don

Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007